12 Jyotirlingas in India

12 Jyotirlingas in India are the twelve Shiva lingams in India’s 12 Shiva temples. Hindus believe that all of these Shiva lingams are swayambhu (self-manifest). They also consider the Jyotirlingas to be the most sacred of all Shiva lingams. A Jyotirlinga is a temple where Lord Shiva, who appears as a blazing column of light, is worshipped.

Jyotirlinga is Sanskrit for the brilliant sign of Shiva. According to Hinduism, India is home to 12 Jyotirlingas, the most revered and potent manifestations of Shiva. They are considered to be phallic representations of the All-Powerful or self-manifested Shiva lingams. Jyotirlinga is significant because it symbolizes Lord Shiva’s boundless nature and his ability to create, preserve, and destroy the universe.

List of 12 Jyotirlingas in India

  1. Somnath Jyotirlinga
    Veraval, Gujarat
  2. Mallikarjuna Jyotirlinga
    Srisailam, Andhra Pradesh
  3. Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga
    Ujjain, Madhya Pradesh
  4. Omkareshwar Jyotirlinga
    Khandwa, Madhya Pradesh
  5. Baidyanath Jyotirlinga
    Deoghar, Jharkhand
  6. Bhimashankar Jyotirlinga
    Pune, Maharashtra
  7. Rameshwaram Jyotirlinga
    Rameshwaram, Tamil Nadu
  8. Nageshwar Jyotirlinga
    Dwarka, Gujarat
  9. Kashi Vishwanath Jyotirlinga
    Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
  10. Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga
    Trimbak, Near Nashik, Maharashtra
  11. Kedarnath Jyotirlinga
    Rudraprayag, Uttarakhand
  12. Grishneshwar Jyotirlinga
    Chhatrapati Sambhaji Nagar, Maharashtra

Brahma and Vishnu conflicted about who was more powerful, according to a Shaiva mythology from the Shiva Purana. Shiva, who is known as the jyotirlinga, appeared as a massive, unending pillar of light to pierce the three worlds and put an end to the argument.

The Pandavas did a penance to atone for their sin of murdering their relatives after the Mahabharata battle, According to a different narrative surrounding Kedarnath Jyotirlinga. They were instructed to ask Lord Shiva’s forgiveness in order to be able to accomplish this. The Jyotirlingas are distinctive images of Lord Shiva. Jyoti means “light,” while linga is another name for mark, a sign. Jyotirlinga translates to “Lord Shiva’s radiant sign.

error: Content is protected !!